Little Granny Envelope bag

Posted on

Granny envelope bagA new bag for spring, Ive called this the little granny envelope bag because its simply a large granny square with the corners folded in and fixed with a button to close. Cute and easy, just right for a few bits and pieces.

Granny envelope bagI lined it and sewed a piece of light webbing to the strap because I have another granny bag which really digs into my shoulder when I load it up. The strap is made in the same way as the crochet belt for you and me too pattern - starting with a double crochet row, before working around with single crochet and the picot edging.

Granny envelope bagThe granny square for this bag is 11 rounds… but it could be made in any size you like. Yum, lots of lovely granny goodness!

Granny envelope bagIf you’d like to make one and you’ve got a question just leave a comment and Ill try to help out. Hope you are having a great weekend! Janette xx

80 thoughts on “Little Granny Envelope bag

    KatiesCameraBlog said:
    November 12, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    That is just wonderful, Janette. The colors are wonderful and perfect for Spring, and just a perfect size too. Really good work! :)

      Janette responded:
      November 12, 2011 at 2:49 pm

      Thanks so much for your kind words Katie :)

    Liz said:
    November 12, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    Oh… I love it. I might have to try one too. My to do list grows…thanks for sharing

      Janette responded:
      November 12, 2011 at 2:50 pm

      Thanks Liz! I have the same problem with not enough time and too much on the-to-do list!!

    craftbear said:
    November 12, 2011 at 5:36 pm

    I love this! I definitely want to try my hand at making one. It’s just so precious! The flower is a lovely touch

      Janette responded:
      November 12, 2011 at 5:57 pm

      :) I love a good crochet flower too, thanks for your kind words!

    Faith said:
    November 12, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    What a great idea……simple but just perfect……clever you….again!

      Janette responded:
      November 12, 2011 at 9:16 pm

      Thanks Faith, I like projects that are super quick and easy and this is definitely one!

    Lorraine said:
    November 13, 2011 at 2:00 am

    So, so sweet!

      Janette responded:
      November 13, 2011 at 8:36 am

      Thank you :)

    all4meggymoo said:
    November 13, 2011 at 7:49 am

    oh my such a cute and lush lil bag :)

      Janette responded:
      November 13, 2011 at 8:35 am

      Thanks Shelley x

    Alison said:
    November 13, 2011 at 10:56 am

    Love this bag. I came across your website a few weeks back when looking for ideas to make some belts for my daughter. You are very talented. I would love to try this and I agree with Liz, my list of projects just keeps getting longer!

      Janette responded:
      November 13, 2011 at 12:56 pm

      Thank you so much ifor your kind words, I really enjoy sharing my projects!

    Sarah - Crafts From The Cwtch said:
    November 17, 2011 at 8:51 am

    That’s beautiful!

    Sara said:
    November 18, 2011 at 5:35 pm

    Of coarse I love this. A granny bag! I know a few little girls who love this for Christmas. :)

    Malala said:
    February 29, 2012 at 12:11 pm

    Hey, this looks so cute. I was wondering how long your square was before you folded it into the bag, and did you do a 3 dc into ch3 space and ch3 pattern? Thank you!

    Janette responded:
    February 29, 2012 at 8:51 pm

    Hi Malala it’s 11 rounds, it’s just a basic granny square, that pattern would be fine. Janette :)

      Malala said:
      March 1, 2012 at 12:05 pm

      Thank you so very much for replying. :D

    Pam said:
    March 15, 2012 at 11:48 pm

    This is adorable. I can’t wait to make one for the girls in my kindergarten class!!!

    Marybeth P. said:
    April 8, 2012 at 7:56 am

    I am currently making eight of these as little thank you gifts for the young ladies who are takin sg my knitting class through 4-H. The girls vary from seven to ten years old and this was the perfect gift to make that covered that variation. Each one is done in different colors so although they are alike they, too, are different. I just have the straps to finish and then they will get them the last week of school. I have made them out of rug yarn because a friend of mine gave me a 13 gallon black trash bag packed full of the stuff.

      Janette responded:
      April 8, 2012 at 9:13 am

      That is such a gorgeous story, I would love to see a photo of the girls with their bags! Janettexxoo

    Marybeth P. said:
    April 8, 2012 at 9:29 am

    I will do my best to make that happen!

    Trisha said:
    April 20, 2012 at 2:10 am

    Love this bag! I’m crocheting one now, but was wondering how you “sewed” the bottom and 2 sides of the bag together. Thanks!

      Janette responded:
      April 21, 2012 at 1:24 pm

      Hi I just held the seams together and stitched between them to make a flat seam. J

    Natalie Anne Chappell said:
    May 1, 2012 at 12:26 pm

    i really want to make one! where did you get the pattern for it

    Marybeth P. said:
    May 9, 2012 at 1:21 pm

    I have the photo ready for you. Where do I send it to?/

    Sharing… | The Green Dragonfly said:
    May 10, 2012 at 5:31 pm

    [...] little while ago Marybeth left me a message letting me know she was making some little granny envelope bags for a group of 7-10 year old girls she has been teaching to knit through 4H in Wheaton, Minnesota [...]

    dane said:
    May 10, 2012 at 9:01 pm

    trés beau en effet c’ est trés originale merci a bientôt dane

    Marylou Miller said:
    May 13, 2012 at 2:19 am

    Is there a written pattern for this or just have to follow the picture? I can’t seem to find it.

    Kym said:
    May 24, 2012 at 6:57 pm

    Hi, I made the squares, look the picture, many times, but don’t know how to make look exact,.
    How many pieces, we should make, and how to do the four corners ? can you reply ….
    Sincerely thank you.
    Kym

      Janette responded:
      May 24, 2012 at 7:50 pm

      Hi Kym, you just make 1 big square, and fold the four corners in toward the centre. You sew three corners and their corresponding sides together, and leave the top unsewen as that is the flap to get into and out of the bag. Does that help? J

    Deborah Jones said:
    June 19, 2012 at 11:47 pm

    Do you have a pattern for this? I love it!! :)

      Marybeth P. said:
      June 20, 2012 at 9:38 am

      Deborah, I have made this over 20 times. I used her directions of the size of hook and yarn and then crocheted an 11 row granny square. That is sewn together point to point as in the photo above and the strap pattern is the crocheted belt pattern that is highlighted. it’s simple and it’s a great stash buster. Read the blog, all the directions are right there.

    45gh10 (Pen Name) said:
    June 29, 2012 at 1:57 pm

    I fell in love with this bag! In my crochet class this is the bag that we started today! I LOVE it! So easy and a great way to teach the children how to crochet!!

    WIP « divinedebrisjewelry said:
    July 5, 2012 at 12:38 pm

    [...] week I really wanted to try something new. So… I’ve had my eye on this bag from the Green Dragonfly and decided to have a go at it. I used this pattern I got from Raverly, [...]

    Kay said:
    July 15, 2012 at 8:54 pm

    Love your bag! Just wondering if you can point me to a way/link/pattern to doing the lining

      Janette responded:
      July 15, 2012 at 11:27 pm

      Hi Kay, the lining is simply a square the same size as your bag. Oversew the edges so they dont fray, then sew the square into the same shape as your bag befor inserting it into the bag and hand sewing it in place. J

        Kay said:
        July 16, 2012 at 7:06 pm

        Thanks so much! I was clueless!

    Laura said:
    August 27, 2012 at 8:27 am

    any size hook ? or di d I miss reading it? I have 3 grandaughters that will love it.

      Janette responded:
      August 27, 2012 at 3:01 pm

      Hi it’s really a matter of what weight yarn you use. For 8ply -which is what this was- I always use a 4mm hook. J

        Laura said:
        August 27, 2012 at 4:36 pm

        great thank you

    Laura said:
    August 27, 2012 at 8:29 am

    oh my, my to do list is also growing

    Maria said:
    September 1, 2012 at 8:23 am

    HI! Such a cute little bag. I am definitely making one for my daughters! So glad to have found your website,. You’ve got lots of cute stuff here. Thanks so much for the freebies. :)

    Paula said:
    September 1, 2012 at 11:44 pm

    made one tonight… adorbs! Thanks for the great idea!

    accrochet said:
    September 8, 2012 at 4:52 am

    Love love love. Added to my page at http://facebook.com/accrochet

    Sheila said:
    September 10, 2012 at 7:38 pm

    Hi I am loving this bag! Just so cute. Can I please have the pattern?

    Brittany said:
    November 4, 2012 at 5:50 pm

    I need a new purse. Saw this and fell in love. Did you do anything different to the last round to make the corners match? Mine are a little round.

      Janette responded:
      November 4, 2012 at 6:50 pm

      No, I didnt- I just matched them up as best I could. Turned out fine :)

    gentlestitches said:
    November 5, 2012 at 3:31 pm

    you wont believe it but it is true. I was just looking at your blog while I took a break from trying to dream up projects to give my students which are “what we can do with a granny square now that we have made one” and there it was. Fear not I will give credit where it is due and refer your weblog to them.
    X

      Janette responded:
      November 6, 2012 at 1:34 pm

      Fabulous!!! Let me know how you get on, Id love to see the finished article if any of your class do make a bag :)

    Marybeth P. said:
    November 6, 2012 at 2:07 pm

    I just wanted to let you know how much the girls have been enjoying and using the bags I made for them last year. I just want to thank you again for posting your pattern so that I could create something special for them for completing their knitting projects.

      Janette responded:
      November 6, 2012 at 2:08 pm

      That is so lovely to hear- you must be happy that they love them too!! Do you have a class this year? Will you be making them all a gift too??

        Marybeth P. said:
        November 6, 2012 at 2:22 pm

        We started the class pictured in their second year two weeks ago. I have a new class beginning in Feb as well. So I haven’t decided if I will make the second year class another gift or not. It depends on what they accomplish this time around. Too soon to tell for the next class. Between teaching classes and i also run a non-profit for children that includes winter wear, design and sell items that helps fund the non-profit, there isn’t always as much time in the day as i would like.

        Janette responded:
        November 6, 2012 at 2:27 pm

        I know exactly what you mean!!!! If only sleep were optional, Id achieve so much more!

    Susan said:
    November 10, 2012 at 2:40 am

    Love, love, love this!! My daughter is an eager recipient of many of projects (even the beginner ones that I cringe at!) I am going to make this for her for Christmas. Any helpful hints on how you attached the lining?

      Janette responded:
      November 10, 2012 at 7:21 am

      Just make sure it is big enough to overlock/serge the edges then fold under about 1/4″ before you attach (wrong side to wrong side). I hand sew, using little stitches that you can hardly see. Hope that helps, there are some sewing instructions on this post which might help.

    MARIA ANGELICA ROJAS said:
    November 13, 2012 at 9:42 am

    Katie me gusto mucho la bolsita tengo una hija en la universidad y ella adoro me enviarias el paso a paso de la receta agradecería mucho un abraso

    Tarabrae said:
    November 22, 2012 at 1:33 pm

    This is gorgeous! I’ll be making a couple for Christmas, so thank you for sharing :)

    Jenny said:
    December 20, 2012 at 8:15 am

    Hi! I need a little help. I’m making the bag for a cousin for Christmas. I’ve got most of it done, but I really love the flowers in the center and I was wondering if you had a pattern for them? Thanks! :)

    Margarita said:
    January 16, 2013 at 7:52 am

    LOVE the color choices!

    marinewife1976 said:
    January 17, 2013 at 3:55 pm

    I love the bag (without strap) and I’ll tell you why. I have been searching everywhere for an envelope bag made from 4 granny squares to put in a pair of matching slippers made from 4 granny squares each. We want to make these for our local Hospice to give to patients. One of our ladies makes these but she cannot give us a pattern because she has none and writing it down is not her thing. So, I am trying to find an envelope pattern (like yours) and try to re-create these slippers in a pouch. No one on line does anything like what I am looking for. I do not see a pattern for your envelope purse on this site, did you post one? Many thanks.

      Janette responded:
      January 19, 2013 at 10:45 am

      HI, Im actually just working on a full photo tutorial for this bag- check back in a couple of days and it should be up!

    Shonie said:
    February 23, 2013 at 10:57 am

    I love this so much I just finished making the granny bottom bag witch for that one you crochet to 2 yarns I was going to make a nother on but couldn’t because the skain of yarn I’m using does it have the 2 to yarns :( this on is only using 1 yarn right? My point is I was still wanting to make something with a granny square and now I can thanks :)

    Sandra Reyna said:
    March 22, 2013 at 2:51 am

    Going to do this project in my crochet class. Sounds so easy. Love it thanks for sharing. One question where dini get the strap pattern?

    Dusty Jackson said:
    June 2, 2013 at 10:27 am

    I love this!! What a great idea!! :)

    Donna Conroy said:
    June 3, 2013 at 12:24 pm

    I made this bag in the sixties and lost the pattern—I was so happy to see it again! Can I use two strands of 4 ply instead of 8 ply yarn??? Thanks so much—Excited to make as a gift! Thanks

      Janette responded:
      June 3, 2013 at 12:56 pm

      How funny!! I must be a sixtes kinda girl! Yes 2 strands of 4ply would be fine :)

    Coffee Chat Wrap Up | Hippie's Creations said:
    June 4, 2013 at 7:15 am

    […]  And then I created this – granny square envelope type bag – the inspiration came from this lovely little blog: The Green Dragonfly […]

    StitchNSew said:
    June 6, 2013 at 9:06 pm

    That is a really great idea. I might have to try this one time. It looks so nice

    Amy said:
    June 18, 2013 at 5:55 am

    You posted this in 2011, so I’m a little slow on the draw. I found this on pintrest & am going to try to re-create it for my niece as a gift. She loves the picture if yours on your web sight. Okay, here’s the question. How did you attach the handle/strap? I think you just sewed through the the the lining & back out through the strap again a few times, but because yours looks so neat in the picture, I want to be sure. Thank you in advance if you can answer this for me. Regardless, the bag is lovely.

      Janette responded:
      June 18, 2013 at 8:56 am

      Hi Amy, yes I just sewed it in place, but only through the crochet portion… Not the lining (so its not visible from the inside). I think I just went in a square shape, down the side, along the bottom, up the other side and across the top. Hope that helps! Janette

        Amy said:
        June 18, 2013 at 9:30 am

        Your response is very helpful. Thank you for the quick reply!

    cck said:
    January 18, 2014 at 12:52 am

    It’s really a wonderful idea!

    […] From the single granny bag… […]

    cindyyarbrough2013Cindy said:
    July 5, 2014 at 12:25 pm

    Do you have written instructions? I am sorry but I need instructions it is adorable I have 5 grandchildren and would make awesome gifts Thank-yo

      Janette responded:
      July 5, 2014 at 4:19 pm

      I’m sorry I didn’t ever write it up as a full tutorial, but there’s really nothing to it, make a square, fold in 3 corners to the centre and sew in place. Make a strap/handle and you are done. Good luck!

      >

Thank you for leaving a comment I love reading them and really appreciate you taking the time to let me know you were here!

