My granny shrug

If you’ve been reading for a while you will remember that I made one of these for Maia a little while ago… and had great plans of making one for myself immediately.  This week I finally got around to making it and aside from waiting 3 days for some extra wool to come (I didn’t bank on it taking quite as much as it did) it really only took me 3 days to make.  If you want to make an easy  item of clothing for a child or yourself then this is it- seriously, even a beginner could make one! I haven’t decided on a closure yet, and I’ve worn it a couple of times without one so I probably wont rush to find something.  The yarn is a gorgeous possum – merino mix that is incredibly soft, and the pattern is called Granny Shrug – you can find it over at Kootoyoo.

Edit: the original pattern is no longer available- a written version is available through Ravelry.

The only variation I made from the pattern was instead of using a super bulky yarn and huge hook, mine is made with an 8ply yarn and 6mm hook. Go on, make one, you won’t regret it!

Ill be back over the weekend with the pattern for the flower necklace.  Hope you are having a lovely week! Love Janette x

33 thoughts on “My granny shrug

    • Tracylee says:

      Hi, I like “my granny shrug very much , can you tell me how to get the pattern, if it is ok could you send me the link to get the pattern. Thank you for your sharing

      Like

  1. creative pixie says:

    I think that the shrug is really lovely, I like the design and the colour is so me ( I think I’ll have to make myself one).

    Like

  2. Louise says:

    I really love this shrug and think it looks great with the weight of yarn you used. Could you tell me how much you used in grams if possible? Thanks

    Like

  3. kate0795 says:

    Just found this via your link from your recent post for your beautiful crochet cardigan! This looks fab and just what I need for the summer with dresses. I’ve looked at the pattern link and I really love the 8 ply effect you’ve done here especially as a summer option. Thank you so much for this! Kate x
    http://thepolkadotroom.wordpress.com

    Like

  4. Charlie says:

    This looks gorgeous, and I really want to make one. Can you let me know if you adjusted the original pattern at all to fit in with the lighter weight yarn you used, and if so how? I have lots of 10 ply that would be ideal for this. Thanks x

    Like

  5. Debbie says:

    I just stumbled across this thanks to following lots of links from Pinterest – I love it and have started to make my own immediately!! (6 rounds in at the mo!) Love the colour of yours though, gorgeous 🙂

    Like

  6. Tami says:

    Hello 🙂 The link that you have listed for the original design no longer exists. Anyway you can help us out with finding the pattern or one similar?

    Thank you
    Hugs Tami

    Like

  7. Debbie says:

    I cannot find this pattern and would really love to make it. Could you post a link to it or let me know whe0re to find it. Thank you! Debbie

    Like

Thank you for leaving a comment, I love reading them and really appreciate you taking the time to let me know you were here!

