This and that

Here are some photos from the last few days, it’s a bit of a random update I’m afraid. The weather has been so nice and we have been so busy I haven’t been spending any time near a computer. Grapes 2014The children painting, and (in the foreground) our stupendous grape crop. We are patiently waiting for them to ripen… the color is just starting to turn so they shouldn’t be far off.

Rose and grapesThe last of the summer roses, Ill be sad to see them go. Roses in swan vaseI will dead head the bush this weekend, but I don’t think it will bloom again before autumn sets in.

Crochet throwAfter a week trawling wool shops (both online and around town), I’ve finally purchased the yarn to complete this cheery throw. I love the bright circles, and spent a long time trying to decide what order to place them in so the colors are balanced. I think I’ve settled on what’s shown in the pic above.Carter, Maia and their new pjsIm still sewing up a storm, including these new PJ shorts for Maia and Carter. Carter is so not into having his photo taken right now… shame, I love taking photos of them! This was the best of a bad bunch: PJ CollageBilly the cat playing with the crochet mouse family (ok maybe not playing, more tolerating Carter annoying his nap time). Billy cat and crochet miceA poppy head (random 🙂 )Poppy seedThese guys are growing up so quickly… and they are so cute, but it’s a battle of wills right now. They are convinced the best place to hang out is on our deck. Unfortunately we don’t agree with them…Chicks Feb 2014Eating so many cucumbers I may well start to look like one…Apple cucumberStill waiting for my tomatoes to ripen, they were planted a little late this year and so the wait seems extra long!

Ripening tomatoesWhile the heat lovers (like grapes and tomatoes) are thriving, the flower garden is looking far from its best… although these dying hydrangea blooms are still quite beautiful. Dying hydrangeaHow’s your week going? Jxox

16 thoughts on “This and that

  1. gentlestitches says:

    My week has been lovely as it was school holidays and we went to the beach with family. My friends oldest bought his partner and she helped with the littlies. We celebrated Australia day. Your children look happy drawing. We still had a far bit of drawing from the 11 and 13 year old.
    Carter made me smile. He is growing up but still a littlie!

    Like

  2. swirleygirls says:

    In the states, the deep freeze that gripped the Ohio valley let up. This has been a trying month for us with my health but things are healing and the days are growing a bit longer every day. So wonderful to see the days treating you all well. Many blessings! Hugs, Sheri

    Like

  3. Lisa says:

    Love your pics!! Camera shy Carter is still adorable even if he cuts up in front of the lens! Maia is adorable too! I love your chickens! Wished I had some! They are probably looking for your pizza!! 🙂 it’s supposed to be sunny here today so maybe I can walk Bear and do some yard work! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    Like

  4. slfinnell says:

    Total summer envy from Mid-Missouri USA. Had an inch of ice last evening and so your warm pics let us remember this will pass 🙂 We call those variety of cucumbers “heirloom lemon cucumbers” around here. Love em!

    Like

  5. Little Miss Ling says:

    Haha love those photos of Maia and Carter! And your chickens! They’re those ploddy footed chickens that I find adorable! (But as adorable as they are, I think I’d still run away from them if faced with them in real life haha!)

    Like

  6. Rebecca Campbelltweetyboo62 says:

    I love all your pictures and comments! Eveything seems to be thriving for you include the children! You have a great green thumb, do you grow your grapes and garden organically? What is your secret? They all look so healthy. Also love the colors you chose for your blanket. Keep sending pics to your blog, I look forward to them each week.

    Like

  7. A-L says:

    Oh how I love reading your blog as it is a mid winter here in Southern Finland. I absolutely adore your hens:-) so cute with those feathered legs and all.. I know what you’re talking about when photoing kids… I guess I haven’t got a decent photo in a very long time, I mean a one where all 4 of them would look good. Or even normal human beings. It always starts at one of them (normally my 8yr old daughter) making faces and then others (the youngest one is a very quick to adopt everything his sisters are doing) follow… pheww… Would love to be able to catch a nice photo pf them all… maybe that is just pure naivety to think that. or?

    Like

  8. Claudia says:

    It’s good not to spend time by a computer every so often, even if it means we don’t get to see your pictures! All lovely, even the “invading army” of chickens! Kids look so cute. Reminds me that I need to get back to my sewing machine. Spending a lot of time crocheting infinity scarves for the 19 people in one of my offices. And on the computer digitizing old 35mm negatives (I’m up to 1982!!!) I’m in California – pray for more rain for us!!! Thanks for your posts…

    Like

  9. Rachael says:

    Lovely pictures. Poppy heads are so beautiful aren’t they. I love your dying hydrangea too, the colours are so subtle. We have some sun today but my word, it is cold and without any snow to make it fun either. At least we are not under water like other parts of the UK are. Enjoy your summer!

    Like

  10. nina says:

    I enjoyed looking at your pictures Janette. We’re just into spring – Ireland celebrates spring on the 1st of Feb – so it’s quite nice to see something to look forward to.
    Love your hydrangea blooms you’re right they’re still lovely! I want to start planting some veg soon & your tomates look just so nice and yummy in their unripe state. Enjoy summer as long as it lasts!

    Like

Thank you for leaving a comment, I love reading them and really appreciate you taking the time to let me know you were here!

