What makes me happy?

I confess, I’m a spur of the moment kind of girl.Β  When inspiration strikes, I want to start.

Straight away.

Right now.

Sooner if at all possible.

That may be why, even though I have two projects on the go, and another one finished but needing to be written up and posted so I can share it with you, I wanted to start another new MUCH more interesting project.

Problem. I didn’t have any suitable yarn.

Solution. I ordered some.

But… I had to wait for it to arrive.

It arrived today. Yay!!

Wool winder 5

I excitedly tore the package open only to find that before I could begin it needed to be wound from the hanks into balls.

Wool winding 3Last year my aunt gave me a vintage wool winder, and this was the first time I’ve had the opportunity to use it (I’m not sure if it has been used much between 1975 and 2013).

Wool winder 3And to be honest, I’m not sure if it achieved the job quicker than me rolling it myself… but the resulting ball was very nicely wound.

When it worked well, the rhythmic action of turning the spool and watching it wrap around was lovely. Unfortunately all too often it was more frustrating than relaxing because the wool kept getting tangled in various places and jamming it up.

But now the first ball is done (the others can wait for another day) and I am all ready to begin my new project. Wool winder 2

That, dear friends, makes me very happy! xox

23 thoughts on “What makes me happy?

  1. craftyclairy says:

    Never do something tomorrow that you could feasibly do today. Or earlier, if you borrow a time machine!
    That wool winder is adorable, and certainly required testing. I’ve not used one, YET, but have been told that they feed in better with practise.
    What is that fab yarn? It’s so shiny, and possibly the most photogenic blue I’ve ever seen.

    Like

  2. rainbowjunkiecorner says:

    Looking forward to seeing what you will make with the new yarn. I am always wanting to start new projects but I don’t like it when the current projects aren’t progressing. It’s so hard to get a blance!

    Like

  3. crochetgottaloveit says:

    You are going to love your yarn wonder. I bought one last year (Lacis brand) and I have used it many times for yarns and size 10 threads! I had bought a lot of yarns from eBay on these huge cones and my winder has been a very helpful tool in using these yarns.
    Good luck with your yarn works and I know you will enjoy the winder! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    ~~~~~~~~
    Kindest Regards ~~ Lee Ann Hamm
    Crochet…Gotta Love It!: http://cgli.us
    Crochet names: http://www.premier.net/~lhamm/cro-name.htm
    My Crochet…Gotta Love It! Blog: http://crochetgottaloveit.blogspot.com
    Sent from my BlackBerry Z10 smartphone.

    Like

  4. Mrs Shirley Clement says:

    These wool winders are great , though not for chunky wool.Not sure if they were made for machine knitters especially, but this is when I had one. However, I sold it when I sold my knitting machine, and now I miss it . I’m forever crocheting and the wool wound on that doesn’t bob about if you pull from the middle. There are always plenty for sale on ebay. Must get another.Not got a website, I think it is beyond me at 62, but see my shops on Folksy and Etsy as Clementcrafts.

    Like

  5. Marybeth P. says:

    I could not live my life without my swift and winder. So much of the yarn I purchase is in hanks. The only difficulty I have had in the 5 years I have had it is that the really fine yarns like lace, you have to allow slack while winding and if not it is so tight it won’t come off. But it saves so much time and frustration than winding by hand.

    Like

  6. monsteryarns says:

    I LOVE my wool winder. Mine came without a metal arm (tension arm) and hubby rigged up replacement. I’m now looking for a nice antique yarn holder so that the yarn doesn’t jump around and get jammed under the table, as you say. But it’s good fun!

    Like

  7. KatyB says:

    I, too, have been looking for a wool winder for ages, although the ones i go for on ebay always end up at ridiculous prices, so I’m still without one😦
    I do hope you have lots of fun with your’s thoughπŸ™‚

    I’m like you, too, in that I’ve always got 3 or 4 items on the go. It saves me getting bored if one of them is taking a long time to make, or is very repetitive – and it means I’ve always got something ready when needed for a gift, which is handy in a big family like mine {grin}

    I can’t wait to see what you’re going to be making with that gorgeous coloured wool, though!πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. Bernice says:

    First time here. Everyone is so positive. Actually I find winding yarn therapeutic. It’s easy to make a pull skein. Just leave a tail of yarn hanging then start winding around your fingers as always. Don’t wind too tight. when your finished you just pull the hanging tail and it unwinds from the center.

    Like

Thank you for leaving a comment I love reading them and really appreciate you taking the time to let me know you were here!

