Ears…

There have been a couple of confused bunny makers, specifically they are having trouble with the ears. So here are some more detailed instructions, which I hope will make the ear making process easier (maybe that should be easy-ear, ha ha).  Ill also add a link to these instructions in the main tutorial:

Ears. You need to make 2:

Make a magic circle, Chain 1 and 6 single crochet into the circle…

Crochet easter bunny free pattern

Pull the magic circle tight, but do not join this or any round. All rounds are worked continuously without joining.

ears 5

You can use a stitch marker, if you like to mark your rounds, but personally, because these are so small and because its more hassle to put the marker in and take it out after every round, I just count the stitches. I put the number in brackets after each round, and I think its a good idea to check you have the right number of stitches after every round! (6).

Insert your hook into stitch 1 and continue around. The first round goes like this: *SC in the next stitch, 2 SC in the next stitch*, repeat between * and * around (9).

ears 6

The next round goes like this: *SC in the next 2 stitches, 2 SC in the next stitch*, repeat between * and * around (12).

Now you need to change colour…assuming you want stripy ears. If you want ears all the same color (which will be easier if you are a beginner), then ignore this step:

With the first color still connected, pull up a loop in the new color:

ears 8
Flip work over (so you are on the inside of ear) and tie a secure double knot between your two threads (old and new). Once it’s all secure snip ends short so they can be tucked inside the ear and don’t get in the way…

ears 9

Round 3 goes like this: SC in the next 3 stitches, 2 SC in the next stitch, repeat between * and * around (15).

ears 10
Round 4: SC  in each stitch around (15). Change color just like before:

Ears 14
Round 5: SC  in each stitch around (15).
Round 6: SC  in each stitch around (15): By this stage they starting to look like ears: here’s the front and back:

ears 17

Then change color again, this next row is a decrease row:

Round 7: *SC in the next 3 stitches, then 2 SC together (decrease) in the next stitch*, repeat between * and * around (12):

ears 18

Round 8: SC  in each stitch around (12).

ears 19

Round 9: Change color and SC  in each stitch around (12).

Round 10: SC in the next 2 stitches, 2 SC together (decrease) in the next stitch, repeat between * and * around (9). Before you begin the last three rounds change color… Remember that this is the final color, so I like to use the same color as the outer bunny body color… that way when you join the ears to the bunny you cant see the stitches…Ears 20

Round 11: SC  in each stitch around (9).
Round 12: SC  in each stitch around (9).
Round 13: SC  in each stitch around (9).

Fasten off and leave a long tail to sew to bunny. Here’s what the back should look like:

ears 21 And front:

ears 22

I really hope this helps, if you have any other questions let me know!  Happy bunny making!!! Janette xx

21 thoughts on “Ears…

  1. K.C. says:

    I’m in the process of making five more bunnies (I made one) for the family hopefully before Easter. Thanks for the cute pattern. My kids think they are sooo cute!

    Like

  2. Tammy says:

    I only got confused on which round I was on when I did my first bunny ears so the striping was different but that’s okay … that’s what gives the rabbits their personality. Right! 🙂 Have a great day. Tammy

    Like

  3. Q says:

    Another way to make this just a little easier for beginners would be to use a variegated yarn. I did this with my most recent bunny and it was much easier to just keep going on the ears. Sorry I didn’t get a photo cause I donated it but I will be making another like this so I’ll have a photo soon. Just so your colors match it looks just as great. Q

    Like

  4. crochetcricket says:

    Thank you Janette for making this tutorial on the ears. I had a hiccup or two making my bunny once I got to the ears because I am fairly new to doing amigurumi and single crocheting without joining. This will be a great help!

    Like

  5. Debby taylor says:

    Thank you so much for this wonderful detailed pattern and walking me through my first crochet animal~I am so grateful because I always thought I couldn’t do animals and now I can!!! Xx

    Like

  6. Patricia says:

    Hello, thanks for the tutorial. I’m a complete beginner and I am enjoying making it, they are super cute bunnies and I’m making one for my daughter for easter.
    I’m on my second attempt at the ears and for some reason in row 7 (decrease row), I end up going from 15 in the previous to 18.
    I realise this is because there is extra stitches I’m putting in, but cannot figure out the correct way or what I’m doing wrong. Any help appreciated🙂

    Like

Thank you for leaving a comment I love reading them and really appreciate you taking the time to let me know you were here!

