These summer days…

Sweet peas in the sunI’m sitting here typing this in a lather. It’s past 8pm and still very very hot.  But although the mercury has been rising, this summer has really settled into holiday mode… which I love.  No routines, no racing out of bed in the mornings. No rushing breakfast. No screaming at kids to eat, get dressed, brush hair, teeth, the cat…  you get the idea. It has been blissfully relaxed and we have had no set agenda.

I’ve spent mornings in the garden, and with plenty of rain in the past couple of months its really looking beautiful and lush. The vege garden is plentiful, my tomatoes have grown to triffid like proportions… and although we have had a few ripe ones, with more than 20 plants in, there are plenty of monster tomatoes which wont be more than a few days away. I’ve made zucchini relish, pickled zucchini and frozen zucchini, I think Ill have to make a zucchini cake next!

If you’ve been reading for a while you may remember Ben our pet blackbird?  He is raising his second clutch of babies for the season and is never far away when we are outdoors. He also follows me around the windows of the house when I’m inside just in case I might throw him a tidbit! No idea where he learned that…

summergarden 2Summer garden 3Summer garden 4There has been plenty of time for many many cuddles from my two favourite little people…Carter cuddling mummyMaia is right into cooking (Carter enjoys the role of official taste tester)… she got a new cookbook for Christmas and is working her way through the recipes.

Maia and Carter baking cookiesAlthough they both manage to get their hands in the bowl before the mixture is even in the oven. Ive noticed Maia is quite generous in the amount that is left behind to sample!

Eating cookies doughWe’ve visited every park in town. Twice…

Maia JaneAnd the zoo… The only thing worth doing in Hamilton in the afternoons, when the weather is like this, is swimming.

Summer 11And every meal is alfresco.  With this hot weather I wouldn’t dream of turning on the oven past lunchtime so even this delicious boysenberry sponge was cooked outside in our pizza oven, and aside from spilling all over the oven stone (oops), it turned out remarkably well.

Boysenberry spongeThis boy loves his desserts! Carter eating boysenberry spongeAnd I love summer!

Raspberries

14 thoughts on “These summer days…

  1. gentlestitches says:

    I enjoyed your post very much. We are having a relaxing time too in Melbourne. What delightful children and what a great Dad that dear blackbird is. My annual Moonflower is just starting to climb up it’s trellis and best of all no school!

    Like

  2. Carine says:

    I want to eat some raspberries now. Well done!🙂
    Really beautiful chocolate cosmos, did you sow it?
    BTW, happy new year for all family.

    Like

  3. Stocki says:

    Hi! How lovely that Maia loves to cook… my daughter was the same at that age and is a much better cook that me now… she can even make a sponge rise (which I have never done)! My son was the same and is a chef now. I love your sons orange nails.. was that you of Maia? Hugs, x

    Like

  4. livingsimplyfree says:

    Lovely pictures I’m missing the dog days of summer even more now. When baking you have to leave plenty in the bowl to taste test, you have to have enough to make the decision of whether or not the batter is perfect before it fully bakes:-)

    Like

  5. Jenny says:

    Wow, I’m in wintery Ireland, so it’s great to see photos with such sunshine in them. I’m hoping we’ll have a good summer this year, it’s been a while since we’ve had a good summer.

    Like

  6. susanklement says:

    I just got back from walking my son to school in freezing temps, so I love seeing these summer pictures! It makes me miss my fresh raspberries, though–not that I get a lot of them before the birds do. I don’t do the gardening myself, though, no time–I hire someone to come in. I figure I have time to garden or to use what comes out of the garden, but not both.I like using the stuff better anyway,😉.

    Like

  7. netheranne says:

    Same here: sitting on the sofa, looking outside, seeing snow falling, its cold outside. I surf through your blog and the contradiction is so weird!
    Only a few months to go, and then……we can pick cherries, strawberries, raspberries too.

    But I like to imagine us a holiday down there for a month in december or january …. mmmmm!
    Maybe someday that dream will come true!

    Like

Thank you for leaving a comment I love reading them and really appreciate you taking the time to let me know you were here!

