Painting a photo

Last year I took this photo of Maia, Carter and their cousins, which my parents (the proud grandparents) had enlarged and printed onto a canvas.  Unfortunately the quality of the print wasn’t great and despite a re-print they were never really happy with the colors… so I decided to have a go at fixing it up! And this is the result:

painting over a photo enhancing photo with paintJust a bit more fun🙂 I didn’t paint the children (except for some of the features), but did (obviously) paint in a new foreground and background.painting over a photo enhancing photo with paint I used oil paints and once it was finished sprayed the entire canvas with a fixative. There doesn’t seem to be any bleeding or damage to the original photo (ie the children’s faces, which I was a bit worried might happen).  I’m quite inspired to have a go painting on other photos now too! I searched around the internet trying to find advice on this kind of thing, but I drew up a blank – have you ever tried painting on a photo, and if so what were the results like?

17 thoughts on “Painting a photo

Thank you for leaving a comment I love reading them and really appreciate you taking the time to let me know you were here!

