Autumn in the garden…

My garden is looking rather dire right now, but that doesn’t mean that there is any shortage of good food or beauty…

Autumn in my gardenTop left clockwise: Beautiful cosmos still going strong, these are all self seeded from last year; leeks fattening up; basil going to flower (I really need to make a new supply of pesto to freeze for the winter); this opportune lettuce is growing in a crack in the path, Ill have to rescue it!  A shy nastertium; I have loads of herbs, this thyme has grown really well this summer; feijoas from the only tree we have that is fruiting (Ive planted a hedge of them out the front of the section but that is unlikely to fruit until next year or the year after; lots of delicious raspberries just coming ripe; a pretty pink pelorgonium; dill flowers… I may have got a bit carried away with sprinkling dill seeds there are so many plants popping up everywhere! Apples from a tree espaliered on our back fence; still plenty of grapes (we have had a bumper crop this year!); passionfruit, this morning I froze an ice cube tray full of pulp so we can enjoy them later in the year; we are STILL picking strawberries; there is always lots and lots of lettuce and silverbeet.  The middle photo is of a prolific sweet red pepper.

As we are swiftly moving towards winter Ill leave you with this delicious salad which I made recently and we all really enjoyed. Its called Raw Energy Salad… this was perfect as an accompaniment with dinner, but could easily have been dinner all by itself. I also enjoyed it for lunch over the next two days. My food processor made quick work of the grating, but if you have to make it by hand it might take a wee while (and you are sure to end up with red hands too!).

500g beetroot (peeled and grated)

700g carrot (peeled and grated)

1 tin of chick peas (rinsed)

1 cup fresh mint leaves chopped

½ cup raisins

¼ cup sunflower seeds (toasted)

¼ cup pumpkin seeds (toasted)

½ tsp salt

DRESSING

2 TBSP pomegranate molasses

2 tbsp balsamic vinegar

¼ cup orange juice

¼ cup olive oil

1 tbsp honey

Dressing

Place all ingredients in a jar, put lid back on and shake well to mix.

Salad

Combine the ingredients in a large bowl, then pour over the dressing and toss.  Enjoy!

This recipe makes a BIG salad, if you are only feeding a couple of people Id suggest cutting the recipe in half. Do you have an energy boosting recipe to share with me? It would be nice to have a collection of them! Love Janette xxx

6 thoughts on “Autumn in the garden…

  1. Faith says:

    Yum, your salad looks lovely, really wholesome. I feel quite jealous of all you clever people with gardens full of veg and fruit, I really am fairly rubbish at it….maybe this year I’ll have more success, although it is pretty out there with our changeable weather….one year I had stacks of tomatoes that never ripened as we had rain and cold for so much of the summer, I made stacks of green tomato chutney as no one had any better suggestions!

    Like

  2. Maria says:

    I didn’t realise you could freeze pesto. I have heaps of basil needing harvesting. I have only just started making my own pesto and I love it. I am hoping next week to buy a dehydrator and dry some of the leaves.

    Like

Thank you for leaving a comment I love reading them and really appreciate you taking the time to let me know you were here!

