Today’s bounty…

Veges from my gardenThank you for all you lovely comments yesterday. I thought I’d share one more peek into our garden, here is what I collected today (minus 4 tomatoes which I gave to my mother in law together with 2 cucumbers and another that went to our neighbor). On the menu tonight: pasta with tomatoes, beans and silver beet and fruit salad with nectarines, tangelos and strawberries for dessert. The green tomatoes are another favourite of mine- Green Zebra (they are ripe when yellowy-green),the potatoes are called Purple Heart I think.  The cucumbers are destined to become pickles with the dill, and the left over beans I thought I would try pickling too… not sure how they will turn out. Jx

13 thoughts on “Today’s bounty…

  1. carine says:

    Thanks for sharing your garden pictures. Here it is so cold at the moment because of the Siberian cold wave: -10.3°c this morning, wind speed 90 km/h.
    For your green/purple beans, you can boil them 2 minutes before storing them in the freezer. In the winter, they will be delicious (just pour them frozen into boiling water when you want to eat them to cook them).

    Like

  2. Joanne says:

    What a crop to get from your garden, and it all looks fantastic.
    I love the look of the purple beans! I grew beans last year but we were all sick of them in the end, but if I added purple that might keep them interested!!

    Like

  3. Jo says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving a comment. What a great harvest. Although I’ve grown purple beans and yellow carrots, I’ve never grown green tomatoes, it just doesn’t seem right eating a ripe tomato which isn’t red. We’re in the middle of winter here, but I’m looking forward to the growing season again.

    Like

  4. Faith says:

    What a great haul! It makes you want to eat healthily when you see it all laid out like that….ah, but seeing as it isn’t on my table I’ll tuck in to my tub of ice-cream instead! This year I WILL grow something edible!

    Like

Thank you for leaving a comment I love reading them and really appreciate you taking the time to let me know you were here!

