Mittens for Mum

It’s a wet dreary day here, the kind of day for curling up in a quiet spot…

billy rain couchCarter and I had a lovely morning playing inside together. We did chopping up of apples (and eating of course), washing dishes; lots and lots of soap and warm water everywhere (even inside the cupboards it turns out).  We also got some ice cubes out of the freezer and they made for interesting play for quite a while, until he ran warm water on them and they disappeared. Sob. That’s ok he informed me through the tears, Mummy buy some more? So we filled the trays and put them back in the freezer to wait until they were frozen. A few checks yielded disappointing results, so it was time to get out the play dough!

I also finished off a pair of crochet fingerless mittens for Mum. I’m really happy with the way they turned out, so soft and warm with a pretty fan stitch design.Mittens for Mum

Here’s the pattern.  It was very simple and they really did work up very quickly, about 3 hours to make the pair.

A transformed ice block box made a pretty package for the mitts, wrapped up with a nice smelly soap and card.

We quickly ducked out while there was a break in the rain, and a spot of sun to deliver them to the postman!

4 thoughts on “Mittens for Mum

  1. Pat says:

    “Hello from Canada, eh!” I live near Brockville, Ontario in the Eastern part of Canada.

    I’d like to thank you for sharing your patterns. You are an inspiration, looking at them I realized I need to get back to designing in crochet. I’m also a quilter and that has been eating up most of my time. I love to create, in Zentangles, wool or cloth.

    Thanks so much for sharing!

    Like

Thank you for leaving a comment I love reading them and really appreciate you taking the time to let me know you were here!

